Mixed Media Fun – Altered Hardcover Notebook

11 Nov

I chanced upon some A5 size plain black hard cover notebooks at my parents’ place the other day and decided to give the plain feel a makeover.

Below are the steps…

First, I experimented making some texture paste using baby powder, white glue and gesso. I started with mixing about 4 tablespoons of baby powder, 2 tablespoons of gesso and 1 tablespoon of white glue in a bottle. I added a bit more gesso and white glue until I achieved the consistency I want.

Next, I sprayed some Mister Huey’s Sunshine mist to the texture paste to create a pale yellow paste.

I spread the texture paste with a palette knife onto the notebook cover covering the black surface. You can also use an expired credit card or any hard plastic card to do the job.

After the texture paste has dried, I applied the different shades of Blue Gelatos and use a foam pad to smoothen out the colours.

Altered notebook cover

Next, I placed the masks and randomly sprayed Tattered Angels Black Magic and Mister Huey’s Heirloom Blue mist over them.

Altered notebook cover

When the mist has dried, I outlined the masks with a black ink pen and painted some black gesso onto the clock face. Then, I used a background wordings stamp with the Brilliance ink pad and stamped the corners of the book. The masks were removed and washed in warm water with some soap.

The final step is to adhere all the embellishments you desire onto the book cover with white glue and Da Da.. You get a complete make over of the book.

Altered notebook cover

Materials used:
DIY texture paste
Faber Castell Gelatos
Mister Huey’s Sunshine mist
Mister Huey’s Heirloom Blue mist
Tattered Angels Black Magic Mist
Tim Holtz idea-ology Timeworks Mask
Black gesso
Black ink pen
Background wordings stamp
Brilliance Starlite silver dew drop ink pad
Embellishments to dress up the cover
White Glue

Altered notebook cover

Thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

