Altered Ikea Box

10 Jul

Hi all!

I am sharing how I transform this

Ikea box

To

This…

Altered ikea box

I have many of such boxes form Ikea at home. I find that the transparent one tends to appear dull after sometime so I decided to give it a new look.

I white gessoed the whole box first. Let dry, followed by Dina Wakley Heavy Body Acrylic paint – Sky. Next, I cut a small part of the Blue Fern Studios Shabby Brick Panel chipboard to use it as a stencil by applying textured paste on it. I randomly smacked the remaining texture paste from the palette knife onto various part of the box.

I distressed the raised bricks and the box’s edges with ink. Then, it’s time to embellish the box with laces, flowers, patterned paper.. Etc etc.

Altered ikea box

I also filled a mini test tube with some rock salt, added some sequins and put a love shaped button in it.
Altered box

I will like to enter this project into the following challenges:

Stamping Sensations July Challenge – Summer Blooms

Altered Ecletics July Challenge

Thank you for popping by! : )

2 Responses to “Altered Ikea Box”

  1. Lynne K July 21, 2014 at 6:44 am #

    I have several of these boxes, Fiona, but it has never occurred to me to try and alter them. What a brilliant job you’ve made of yours, it’s gorgeous! Thank you for sharing it with us at Stamping Sensations.

    Lynne

  2. ellapu July 31, 2014 at 6:16 am #

    This is fab – gorgeous thankyou for sharing with us over at Altered Eclectics this month.
    Eclectic Ellapu – Owner
    Altered Eclectics – Owner
    Handcrafted by Ellapu
    DT Crafty Ribbons

Leave a Reply

