Butterflies … Butterflies…

20 Jul

Hey friends

Just completed a layout to enter the 13@rts July Challenge #20 based on this lovely sketch

13Arts Challenge 20

And this is what I had done:

How many Butterflies are there? Count, Count, Count! : )

The photo was taken in Taiwan at one of the nature parks. I chanced upon these two butterflies mating (I think) haha.. It is always challenging (at least for me) to capture butterflies as they are unlikely to stay still for me to shoot them. Haha! But these two butterflies were very still and my camera was extremely close to them. : )

For the layout…
I used the Blue Fern Garden – In Bloom for the background. First, I applied a layer of clear gesso followed by random tapping/gliding of the Ranger Distress Stain (Spun Sugar).

Next, I randomly applied the Ranger Distress Ink (Vintage Photo) and (Mowed Lawn) with a piece of stamp pad foam.

Then I brushed some Ranger Clear Rock Candy crackle paint randomly. It has this crackle effect once dried. I applied more distress ink to make the crackle stands out more.

The images of the globe to the 4 mini butterflies in a frame are from a piece of napkin I bought at the Chatuchak Market in Bangkok sometime ago.. I cut the images I want and did the decoupage technique.

I added some Distress Ink (Picked Raspberry) to textured paste to create a light pink shade. Then, I scooped some with a palette knife onto the negative part of a butterfly. I let it dry and randomly stamped the butterfly with a wording stamp.

Then, I did the layering and embellished the layout. The Pinky red butterflies were from Prima Resist Canvas misted with color.

Back to the counting.. Do you manage to see 12 butterflies? đŸ˜‰

Thank you for popping by! : )

2 Responses to “Butterflies … Butterflies…”

  1. melenia313 July 22, 2014 at 12:27 am #

    I love butterflies and now I see 12 of them in a wonderful layout!!! A great take on the challenge! Thanks for playing with us at 13Arts, Fiona!!!

  2. jelimon July 23, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

    Wonderful layout Fiona!! So happy to see that you’re putting the BFS goodies to such good use and with such beautiful results. Love how you incorporate all those little knickknacks from your travels into the page as well. Thanks for joining us at 13@rts this month!

Leave a Reply

