1 Layout for 3 Challenges…

1 Nov

Hi there..

I know it has been quite a while since I last posted a layout… and today I am sharing one just in time to play at the following challenges.

Scrap Around the World October 2014 Challenge 18
Prima Build-A-Page October Challenge
Craft Hoarders Anonymous! Challenge #18 – Layer it!

My layout is based on the lovely Mood Board by Rachael Funnell from Scrap Around the World

Scrap around the world oct mood board

and the sketch at Prima Build A Page.

Prima Build A Page Oct Sketch

And Ta-da.. Below is my take…

Fiona Ong's Layout

When I saw the top right image with the quote at the mood board I immediately saw in my head that I wanted a background with a dreamy watercolour effect and the Blue Fern Studios “Charlotte Dreams” paper comes to a good use. The colours on the paper matches the main colours I wanna use as well – Blue and Purple.. Inspired by the colours on the bottom right butterfly at the mood board.

I had also intentionally distress the edges of the paper with Ranger Black Soot distress ink just like the butterfly outlined in black.

Some close ups…

image

The quote is from one of the stamps in the Stampers Anonymous “Way with Words CMS165” collection. I first glided some Faber Castell Metallic Blueberry and Metallic Grape respectively onto the craft sheet. I sprayed some water to it and then used a sponge to dab the colours onto the Ranger Distress Watercolor Cardstock. I let it dry before stamping the quote, added clear embossing powder and heat set it.

For the background… after the layer of clear gesso had dried, I mixed the Metallic Gelatos with the Faber Castell Glass Bead Glitter Gel and applied it with the stencils and then some stamping with Simon Says Stamp Island Blue ink. The stencils and stamps chosen are to match how I wanted to represent the lines/symbols on the image of the short at the mood board.

The flowers used in this layout are from Prima various collections in my stash and the two resist canvas butterflies which I had applied the Gelatos are from Prima too.

Thank you for coming by. Your comments matter to my creative learning journey. Feel free to drop one. : )

10 Responses to “1 Layout for 3 Challenges…”

  1. Heather McMahon November 1, 2014 at 3:02 pm #

    Very cool! I love that textural background effect. Thanks for playing along at SATW.

  2. Lilibleu November 1, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    Wonderful layout !! I love that textural background effect and the butterflies !! Thanks you for playing at SATW πŸ™‚

  3. lostcoastscrapper1 November 1, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    Beautiful, love all the stamping and layers! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  4. smithgfb November 2, 2014 at 1:15 am #

    Lovely colors, amazing layers and just an all around beauty! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  5. Pam Ellis November 2, 2014 at 3:53 am #

    Beautiful page! Great sentiment! I love your colors and those lovely flowers! All the best from SATW! πŸ™‚

  6. paperiliitin November 2, 2014 at 4:02 am #

    Love the cluster you’ve created! Lovely, fabulous page! Thank you for joining us at SATW in October!

  7. Christy Butters November 3, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    What a gorgeous layout!
    Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anon πŸ™‚

  8. didlet November 3, 2014 at 8:47 am #

    Nice layout, love the sentiment. Thanks for playing along with us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  9. wendi R November 3, 2014 at 1:00 pm #

    super cool page love your layers and texture!! great embellies!!! Thanks for sharing with us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  10. Gloria Stengel November 6, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    This is stunning. I love all the tiny details and the glittery background! Thanks for playing along with us a Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

Leave a Reply

