My Grandma… playing at challenges…

22 Nov

Hi there

I am playing for the November Challenges at Once Upon A …Sketch and Scrap Around The World.

Here’s the sketch at Once Upon a Sketch
Once Upon A Sketch Nov Challenge

and the rich Vintage Mood Board by Zuzia Bodakowska at Scrap Around The World’s challenge.

Scrap Around THe World Nov Challenge

and this is my take.. showcasing my beloved late grandmother who has always been my source of inspiration and strength. : )

Fiona and Grandma
My layout is inspired by the vintage feel of the mood board and the colourful flowers. As you can see.. I had intentionally made the layout rather cheery and at the same time added some nostalgic feel to it by having this decades old photo of my grandmother and me. : p

image

I started off applying clear gesso to a 12 by 12 American Crafts Vanilla textured card stock. Then I did some stamping.

I mixed the 13 arts Matt Coral Ayeeda Paint with Liquidtex heavy gel and applied to the inside of the butterfly screen from Tattered Angels. Next, I applied the colour mists with the screen still on so as to capture the outline of the butterfly. Then, i tapped some mist with the brush. I also tapped some droplets in gold paint.

 

image

A little story to share about my Grandma : )

Though my grandma has passed on since 1997, I always remember how she had taken good care of me and imparted good moral values to me as I was growing up. She was in and out of the hospital the last few years of her life and every time I would prayed that she be well and returned home. And grandma did. She did not die at the hospital. In fact, it was an unexpected departure. I remembered I was talking to her in the morning just before I leave home. When I returned home that afternoon, I saw grandma resting at her usual reclining chair (we shared the same room) and I tried to wake her up. Sometimes it would took awhile to wake grandma up from her nap. But I sensed something was not right. She never opened her eyes. It was indeed an unexpected event and I cried for days. However, I am also glad that grandma passed on peacefully during her sleep. It was a sweet departure for her.  and I will always remember how wonderful she is in my heart. : )

 

image

Ok.. back to what I did in this layout…

I had die cut the bicycle and covered with the Ranger Distress embossing powder. I had attempted to try the bleeding technique for an ombre effect on the two bigger Prima flowers.
I can just get white flowers and alter to any colour I like for matching purposes.
This is a fun technique I learnt from Jelissa Mei. Thanks Jelissa. : ) Head on to her blog for inspirations. Her projects are beautiful.

I had die cut the word “Inspire” from a balance  piece of American Crafts Burlap.

image

I had die cut the window on a brown cardstock and applied the Distress Crackle paint on it. I then applied some distress ink after it is dry to highlight the crackle effect. The journaling is written on the tag inserted into the Websters Pages mini envelope.

image

These are the stuff I had used in this layout. Oh yes, there is the Sizzix Elegant Flourishes Die which I had forgotten to include in the picture.

Ok.. that’s all from me for now..

Thank you for popping by! Feel free to leave your comments as they matter to my learning journey. : )

 

 

9 Responses to “My Grandma… playing at challenges…”

  1. Lizzy Hill November 23, 2014 at 4:59 am #

    I really, REALLY enjoyed looking at your page, especially the close ups….being VERY close to my own grandma, I so relate to what you are saying about yours…..it is a wonderful page – the butterfly stenciling is gorgeous….thanks so much for sharing with us at OUAS this month:) And if you haven’t already done so, you can link this to our Once Upon A…Sketch Facebook Page for a chance at our special FB prize!

  2. zuziucha November 23, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    I like this page very much, especially so many layers and the butterlies in the background. Thank you for playing along with SATW this month.

  3. hera sugitani November 23, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    Your page is lovely! Thanks for playing along with us at SATW!

  4. Pam Ellis November 24, 2014 at 4:51 am #

    What a great page to remember your grandmother! It’s beautiful and I am sure she would have loved it! All the best from SATW! 🙂

  5. annar13 November 25, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

    Lovely page! Thank you very much for playing along with SATW!

  6. Tracey Sabella November 26, 2014 at 10:18 am #

    What a lovely page and I just adore your mixed media work!! Congratulations on your gorgeous layout being featured on the Once Upon A…Sketch Facebook Page ~ Blessings, Tracey

  7. Marilyn Rivera November 26, 2014 at 10:52 am #

    So Fabulous page!!! Thank you so much for playing at Scrap Around The World!!

  8. wilmavoermans November 27, 2014 at 9:07 am #

    A beautiful background and that picture looks very special to me. Thanks for playing with us at OUAS!

  9. Heather November 27, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    This is fabulous! So great to record these special memories. Thanks for joining in at Scrap Around The World.

Leave a Reply

