Playing at the December Challenges…

15 Dec

Hi there…

It’s the festive month… People at the malls doing Christmas shopping… Taking pictures of the Xmas decorations etc.. It’s crowded everywhere and especially during the weekends.. : ) Hence, staying at home doing projects seems to be a lovely option for me. I am sharing a Christmas theme canvas layout here… Haha! Not as if I am a Christmassy person…
It has been a super long time since I gathered with friends partying with food, counting down to Christmas, gift exchanges etc…
Well.. it’s still nice to dig out all the Xmas’ theme stash that I have and put together a project. : )

I am playing at the following challenges:
Craft Hoarders Anonymous! Challenge #21 – Celebrate the Season
Scrap Around the World – December 2014 Challenge 20
Once Upon a Sketch – “It’s December…”

I used the sketch board from Once Upon a Sketch:

Capture

I was also inspired by the colours – blue, red and snowflakes on the Frosty Winter Mood Board by Anna Komenda at Scrap Around the World.

SATW MOOD BOARD ANNA DEC 2014

And ta-da… this is my take.

FionaDec14Xmas

This project was done on a 12 by 12 Canvas panel.

Some close ups…

FionaDecXmas

I applied the Prima Art Basic Soft Matt Gel over the canvas and then pasted a 12 by 12 scrapbook paper with the design down onto the canvas. After the gel has dried completely, I sprayed water to the paper and rubbed off slowly to reveal the print. My idea was not to have a perfect reveal of the print thus the tears here and there helps to create texture to the background. Next, I used a couple of stencils, did some stamping, misting etc for the background.

FionaDec14Xmas

FionaDecXmas

I did a accordion mini album here so that I can add more photos to it. I did some journaling at the other side.

FionaDec14xmas

The flourish was die cut using Sizzix Bigz – Elegant Flourishes and I applied the Faber Castell Glass Bead Glitter for the textured look.

FionaDecXmas

The reindeers were cut using the Pazzles Inspiration cutter.

That’s all from me for now.

Thank you for viewing! May you have a lovely festive time this Dec. : )

7 Responses to “Playing at the December Challenges…”

  1. wendi R December 15, 2014 at 1:47 pm #

    ohhh love this and all the layers and texture!!! Thanks so much for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous.

  2. didlet December 15, 2014 at 1:48 pm #

    Nice layout, love your take on the sketch. Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  3. Lizzy Hill December 15, 2014 at 6:50 pm #

    This is BEAUTIFUL & I really, REALLY like the background and texture work….it looks fabulous – thank you sooo much for using our very last OUAS sketch this month…..& despite not being ‘christmas-sy’ – I hope you have a wonderful time:):)

  4. smithgfb December 15, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

    Lovely page! Thanks for joining in the challenge at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  5. Gloria Stengel December 16, 2014 at 4:11 am #

    What a great project, Fiona. I really love the textures. May you have a blessed Christmas! Thanks for joining us at Craft Hoarders Anonymous!

  6. Pam Ellis December 23, 2014 at 8:03 am #

    What a completely adorable layout! I love this! So fun and colorful! Thanks for playing along with us at SATW! 🙂 Remember to be eligible for the design team prizes you must visit their blogs and become a follower! 🙂

  7. Lilibleu December 27, 2014 at 5:06 pm #

    Very nice layout, I love the background work !! Thank you for playing at SATW 🙂

Leave a Reply

